101 Cowan Rd, Dickson, TN 37055 • Office Hours: Monday - Friday 7:00 am to 5:00 pm
PHONE: 615-441-4188 | AFTER HOURS EMERGENCY: 615-441-9511


Board of Commissioners

Kyle Ruf - Chairman

Kyle Ruf is a 1983 graduate of Dickson County High School and holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Austin Peay State University.

Mr. Ruf founded First Insurance Partners, LLC in 2004 and acquired three long-standing insurance agencies in Middle TN.  First Insurance Partners specialties include insurance products for the entertainment industry, healthcare related commercial insurance, governmental entity insurance, high net worth personal insurance, insurance for manufacturing and group health insurance.

Mr. Ruf has served as the President of Insurance Group of Tennessee, LLC since 2007. He has also served on the Water Authority Board since 2000 and has functioned as Chairman since 2002.

Dr. Don L. Weiss, Jr. -  Mayor, City of Dickson, and Vice - Chairman

Dr. Weiss was born in Dickson County, graduated from Dickson County Senior High School in 1976, received his Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville in 1980, and in 1986 received his Doctor of Optometry degree from Southern College of Optometry in Memphis. Mayor Weiss served on the City Council of Dickson from 1987 to 1993.

He is currently serving as Mayor of the City of Dickson and presently practices Optometry at Dickson Eye Health Center. Mayor Weiss is married to the former Dr. Lori White of Malvern, Arkansas and they have two sons, Trae and Taylor.

R. Darrell James P.E. - Secretary/Treasurer

A native of Tennessee, Mr. James obtained a Bachelor of Science, Engineering degree from the University of Tennessee in 1980 with graduate studies in Engineering Management. He entered the profession in 1976 as a draftsman/junior bridge designer for the Tennessee Department of Transportation Division of Structures. Afterward Mr. James was associated with a consulting engineering firm for 12 years where he held the positions of Vice President and Director of Computer Applications. In 1990, Mr. James founded the firm of James + Associates. As President of James + Associates, Mr. James maintains the overall responsibility for projects completed by the firm as well as development and design of projects with unique or special requirements. Mr. James has been involved in applying computer technology to engineering and facility management problems for over 30 years and has authored over 20 papers in the field of study.

A licensed engineer in Tennessee and Kentucky, Mr. James has served in numerous capacities with the Tennessee Society of Professional Engineers, serving as State President in 1996. He is a Fellow Member of the National Society of Professional Engineers and has served as the Tennessee delegate to NSPE multiple times. As a member of the Engineers Association of Nashville, he has served as an officer and President of the Society. Mr. James is also active in the American Council of Consulting Engineers, Consulting Engineers of Tennessee, and the Tennessee Highway Engineers.

Mr. James has also served locally as a Board Member of the former Turnbull-White Bluff Utility District and the Dickson County Planning Commission and currently serves on the Board of the Clement Railroad Hotel Museum. Mr. James has also served as adjunct faculty at Nashville State Community College and Vanderbilt University.

Appointed by the Speaker of the House of the Legislature to the Tennessee Science and Technology Council in 1996, Mr. James also is a founding Board Member of the Tennessee Technology Development Corporation. The TTDC is administered by the Tennessee Department of Economic and Community Development whose mission is to assist in the economic development of technology in the State of Tennessee.

Todd Murphy

Todd Murphy is a native of Dickson County appointed to the Board of Commissioners on April 11, 2016. Mr. Murphy is a 1995 graduate of Dickson County High School and he attended Austin Peay State University.


He is co-owner of The Cellar Wine & Spirits; Highway 48 Storage Facility; and, Murphy Food Stores located in Charlotte and Fairview. He serves the Dickson County Election Commission as a machine technician, and is responsible for the reconciliation and reporting of votes during elections. He is also a current member of the Charlotte Lions Club.

Mr. Murphy's other board affiliations include:Tennessee Grocer's Education Foundation - Chairman; Charlotte Lions Club - President and Secretary; and, Dickson County Chamber of Commerce - Board Member 2003-2008.

He represents the appointment from the Harpeth area of WADC’s service area.




Jon "Bird" Armstrong

Bird Armstrong was elected to the Dickson City Council to represent the 3rd ward in 2009. Mr. Armstrong was appointed to the Board of Commissioners of the Water Authority of Dickson County in November 2015. He has been married to Charlotte Luther Armstrong since November 1991. Mr. Armstrong is a Real Estate Broker GRI, ABR / Auctioneer with Charles Woodard and Associates, and has been with the firm since 1992. He also currently serves as Region III Excess Land Coordinator for the Tennessee Department of Transportation, for whom which he has been employed since 2005.

Mr. Armstrong’s other previous board affiliations include: Dickson County Board of Realtors - President; Dickson County Chamber of Commerce - President; Dickson County Livestock Association - President; Dickson County Shrine Club - President; Dickson Farmers CO-OP Board Member; Dickson Municipal Airport Authority - Board Member; and Greater Nashville Association of Realtors - Board Member